Lenovo 300e Chromebook 2nd Gen review: A school Chromebook you should bring…

Lenovo 300e Chromebook 2nd Gen review: A school Chromebook you should bring home

Bottom line: With the same processor and performance as the Asus C214 and Dell 3100, Lenovo undercuts its competition with ThinkPad-like quality and a price tag that can’t be beaten for a 2019 laptop.

Pros

  • Rugged but awesome-feeling housing
  • Six years of support
  • 10-hour battery life
  • Great price

Cons

Why you can trust Android Central

Our expert reviewers spend hours testing and comparing products and services so you can choose the best for you. Find out more about how we test.

Chromebooks are known for being able to take a beating, thanks in no small part to the durability requirements Google has for Chromebooks for Education. Pick-proof and spill-resistant keyboards, drop-resistant screens and chassis, and extra-strong ports help make classroom Chromebooks a hit for home users, too, and if you’re looking for one that can go the distance without breaking the bank, Lenovo’s got what you need.

It’s not the new C340 line (yet), but it’s more sturdy and offers the same excellent performance in a more life-proof shell without making you shell out big bucks.

Lenovo 300e Chromebook 2nd Gen What makes the grade

Operating SystemDisplayProcessorMemoryStorageExpandable StorageConnectivityPortsAudioBatteryDimensionsWeightAuto Update Expiration
Chrome OS
11.6 inches (1366 x 768)250 nits brightnessIPS multi-touch
Intel Celeron N4000
4GB LPDDR3
32GB eMMc
microSD card
Wi-Fi 802.11acBluetooth 4.2
2x USB-C USB 3.1 Type-C Gen 12x USB-A USB 3.0
2W stereo speakersHeadphone / microphone combo jack
Li-Ion 42Wh (10 hours)45W USB-C AC adapter
290 x 204 x 20.85 mm(11.41″ x 8.03″ x.8″)
2.9 lbs (1.35 kg)
June 2025

Lenovo’s Chromebooks have been my favorite because they feel lovely in-hand and in the lap when jotting up a quick report on the bus. The 300e’s black/grey body has three textures: a nicely grippy diamond texture on the outer shell, a horizontal grain on either side of the trackpad, and a slightly gravelly feeling texture that sits at the bottom of the screen and surrounding the keyboard keys. All three work well together to keep the 300e from feeling like just another boring black Chromebook, but I especially love the texture below the keyboard where I rest my palms and wrists as I type.

Typing on the 300e feels great, especially for a sub-300 Chromebook: the keys have a good travel distance, don’t feel too mushy, and typing on one for hours and hours doesn’t wear out my hands the way other keyboards can. The 300e can take advantage of the C330’s popularity when it comes to keyboard covers, too, if you like having an extra layer of protection on your keyboard.

As far as performance goes, the 300e 2nd Gen uses the same processor and hardware platform as the Asus C214 and Dell 3100 2-in-1, and it chugs along at the same perfectly smooth speed. The battery usually lasted me 8-10 hours on a single charge, more than enough to get through the school day and a couple of hours of homework before you’ll need to hunt down a charger.

I’ll admit the 300e is bigger than both the C214 and C330 in every dimension, but at the same time, the 300e feels the best in my hand, especially when carrying it between classrooms and cafes. It’s hefty in the best way, and its beefiness helps it feel like a more solid Chromebook compared to the C214 and especially next to the Dell 3100 2-in-1.

Lenovo 300e Chromebook 2nd Gen Why it fails to stand out

Despite the very, very luxurious feel of the 300e’s diamond-textured top and bottom, the 300e seems to soak up any oil, sweat, and grease from your hands. Don’t get me wrong, I’d rather have a grease magnet than the scratch-prone casing on the C214, but just keep in mind you’ll probably want to run a microfiber cloth over the screen and the casing regularly.

The 300e is a solid little Chromebook with the best pricing on a new education model around — over 60 less than Asus’s and Dell’s new 32GB models — but the 300e can get easily overlooked thanks to just how similar it is to the far more readily-available and current Best Chromebook Lenovo C330, which is available in 64GB in a far more pleasing Blizzard White for less.

This isn’t helped by the fact that the 300e is only available in a single 4GB/32GB configuration. While 32GB with a microSD card for expansion is workable in 2019, this Chromebook will be supported until June 2025; 64GB of internal storage would be far easier to work with for the next six years. MicroSD can finally be used by some apps, but not everything can go on microSD, and microSD can sometimes get ejected and remounted when waking a Chromebook from sleep.

Lenovo 300e Chromebook 2nd Gen A fantastic laptop for everyone

Once the Lenovo C340-11 hits the market, it’s going to outshine the 300e, but if you’re looking for a reliable Chromebook for accident-prone kids (or husbands) that won’t break the bank, the 300e will be a much better fit. And since this laptop will be supported until 2025, you can rest assured that it will earn its affordable price tag two or three times before it hits its EOL date.

Do I wish there was a 64GB option available? You bet. But otherwise, this little workhorse is a champ I’d be more than confident to run around with at the parks as we head into our year-end insanity. This Chromebook more than earns its spot in Best Chromebook for Students.

Lenovo 300e Chromebook Review: A Modest Laptop for Students

Are you a college student or a high school teacher and you need a device you can bank on? If yes, you should start your search by reading this Lenovo 300e Chromebook review.

By Omoyeni Araokanmi | Updated February 25, 2023 | 15 minutes read | 4 Reads

Itechguides’ Take on Lenovo 300e Chromebook

Here’s a durable convertible Chromebook that survives a liquid spill and a fall in the classroom. Its impressive battery life also makes you confident of a full day’s activity without having to charge.

  • Durable build
  • Supports any pen
  • Spill and Drop Resistant
  • Impressive Battery Life

Every section of this review will provide you will comprehensive information on what this Chromebook has to offer. specifically, this review has been broken down into sections of its design, CPU, memory, storage, GPU, and battery performance.

Still in each section, I will be discussing the performance as well as the pros and cons of this device. The essence of all these is to help you make the right purchasing decision.

My Initial Thoughts

The year 2018 started with Lenovo announcing the launch of new education-focused Chromebooks. This series includes the Lenovo 100e, 300e, and 500e.

Following that, Lenovo redefined the 300e in 2019 and referred to it as the “300e 2nd Gen”. Well, manufacturers often redefine products but just how redefined is this device?

Read on to satisfy your curiosity as I review the 2nd Gen model of this Chromebook.

Lenovo 300e Chromebook Design, Dimensions Weight Review

If you’re familiar with the 1st gen, you’ll begin to notice some design changes on the 2nd gen just from a glance. For starters, the Lenovo 300e 2nd gen feels lighter than the 1st gen model.

To be specific, the 2nd gen weighs 1320g and has a dimension of 290 x 204 x 20.85 mm. The 1st gen on the other hand weighs 1351g and has 292.1 x 203.2 x 20.32 mm as its dimension.

Despite the fact that the differences don’t seem like a lot, it’s a noticeable change. When you compare the Lenovo 300e with two of its competitors, you’ll find some lighter and some heavier options.

Notably, the Asus Chromebook Flip C214 weighs less at 1200g while the Dell Chromebook 3100 weighs more at 1410g.

As for build material, this Chromebook is made up of a plastic chassis. This smooth-textured chassis Chromebook is available in one color variant which is black and is highlighted with dark grey edges.

Furthermore, these edges are sharpened, unlike the previous version which had curvy edges. Above the left sharp edges on the lid, you’ll see the “Lenovo” text logo while Chrome’s colorful logo sits on the right edge of the lid.

The Lenovo 300e Chromebook isn’t just a smooth, feel-good kind of device, it’s also durable. Lenovo says this device is military-grade tested and is able to survive a drop of 75 cm which is the height of a school desk.

Apparently, this drop survival is possible thanks to the rubber bumpers around the Chromebook’s edges. Furthermore, on its durability, the solid hinges of this Chromebook require that you use both hands in opening the laptop’s lid.

Speaking of hinges, these hinges go all the way back 360 degrees which gives you a convertible device. It is a completely convertible Chromebook like the 1st gen and also a touchscreen display.

lenovo, 300e, chromebook, review, school, bring

Being a convertible means that you can use the Lenovo 300e Chromebook in laptop, tablet, or tent mode.

Not only is this a convertible laptop, but it also features a 10-point multi-touch touchscreen display. Having a 10-point multi-touch screen means the touch screen allows you to use different gestures of ten fingers on the screen simultaneously.

For a touchscreen display, you ordinarily expect a stylus pen right? Well, interestingly, Lenovo came up with something creative.

Asides from having the typical stylus pen of this Chromebook (which comes at an extra cost), Lenovo included a feature called “any stylus”.

With that said, you pretty much know what it means to have a stylus pen given to you with a touchscreen device. Now, you’re probably wondering what “any stylus” means right?

According to Lenovo, the “any stylus” feature means a typical pen is accepted on this device. This means that students are able to use an actual pencil on the touchscreen display of the Lenovo 300e.

With such a feature, you expect that this screen will mostly develop some scratches or marks from the use of a pencil. Impressively, the screen doesn’t leave any track marks after the pencil use.

Having the “any stylus” feature is a big plus especially if you don’t want to add some cash for the actual stylus pen. Using a typical pencil is probably all you’ll need.

Even though Lenovo says “any stylus”, using an ink pen isn’t the best. That’s because ink pens produce ink stains on the screen, so a typical pencil will do just fine.

Furthermore, the Lenovo 300e Chromebook has an 11.6″ inch IPS display. This display is also an HD (1366 x 768) resolution.

Having an IPS (In-plane switching) display means a device maintains a sharp display even when in different viewing angles. Without a doubt, IPS displays are important in a convertible device since you’ll have them in different modes.

Fortunately, the Lenovo 300e Chromebook has good viewing angles as you’ll expect – nothing so impressive. As for its screen brightness, this device has the average 250 nits of brightness we often see in Chromebooks.

On a more impressive note, this Chromebook features a 66% sRGB color gamut which is higher than the 52% we see in most Chromebooks.

To clarify, sRGB is responsible for the color accuracy and color brightness of a display. With that said, a higher sRGB is what you should be rooting for and that’s what Lenovo offers.

Away from the display, the other end of this Chromebook is where you’ll find the keyboard and touchpad. Starting with the keyboard, the Lenovo 300e Chromebook features a spill-resistant keyboard.

For clarity, a spill-resistant keyboard has an underlining material between the keyboard layout and the motherboard. This material prevents liquid from getting to the motherboard in good time to avoid damages.

This means if anything gets spilled on the keyboard, the motherboard doesn’t get affected. Even though it’s spill-resistant, you shouldn’t dump it in a pool!

This Chromebook can only survive a spill of 33cl of water.

Ordinarily, you would expect that an 11-inch device would have an annoying keyboard for typing but it doesn’t. The keys respond fast and have good key spacing.

Unfortunately, this keyboard is not backlit which means the typing experience in low-light situations won’t be so enjoyable. Along with the typing, the touchpad of this Chromebook is average and responds well to get the job done.

On both sides of the Lenovo 300e, you’ll see decent ports expected for an education-focused Chromebook.

Starting from the left, there’s a headphone jack, a full SD card reader, an HDMI port, and a full-service USB Type-C charging port. While on the right, there are two volume control buttons, the power button and a USB Type-A 3.0 port.

Having only one type-C port is limiting for a Chromebook. This is because having two USB Type-C ports would increase the possibility of charging the laptop and also transferring data at the same time.

After taking a look at the ports on the right side, there’s a dedicated pen slot close to the Chromebook’s base. According to Lenovo, this is a “garage AES pen” – don’t worry I’ll explain that shortly.

The garage AES pen is not just a stylus pen’s case for safekeeping, it’s also where the pen gets charged up. This means that while you’re charging the Lenovo 300e, the stylus pen also gets charged when it’s in the “garage”.

lenovo, 300e, chromebook, review, school, bring

Overall, the design section of this Lenovo 300e Chromebook review has a lot of impressive features to love about it. Altogether, it won’t be far-fetched to rate this review section a nine out of ten.

Lenovo 300e Chromebook Processor (CPU) Performance Review

The processing power of the Lenovo 300e Chromebook comes in two variants. You can get this Chromebook with the Intel Celeron or MediaTek processor.

As for the specifications, the Intel Celeron N4000 is a dual-core processor. The MediaTek 8173C on the other hand is a quad-core processor.

It’s uncommon to have two processor options on an education-focused Chromebook. Even though both processor options are not the highest performers, they are expected to offer good performance ideal for a Chromebook.

Speaking of expectations, knowing the processor performance is all that matters right?! Well, as expected, I didn’t forget to carry out a processor performance test on this Chromebook.

Usually, we use a JavaScript test tool for testing a Chromebook’s processor performance. Fortunately, we were able to use the Cinebench benchmark test instead.

The Cinebench 20 is a test tool that analyses the CPU’s performance. It lets you know just how fast or slow the processor handles tasks with a high score meaning it’s fast and a low score telling you it’s slow.

This Chromebook was able to support the Cinebench test because Lenovo offers a Windows 10 OS model option. Having a Windows OS model of this Chromebook is a big plus because Chromebooks typically run on the Chrome OS.

Just before I get into the test, it’s worth noting that our review model has the Windows OS with the Intel Celeron N4000 processor.

As for the processor performance test with Cinebench 20, the Lenovo 300e 2nd Gen scored 514 points. This is higher than the average 459 points score of this processor.

Furthermore, the Lenovo 300e was some points behind the Dell Latitude 11 3190 which scored 540 on the same test. The Lenovo 300e Chromebook also almost had a tie with the Acer TravelMate B1 which had 513 points.

Based on the performance scores above, the Lenovo 300e Chromebook performed above the average score of this processor. In addition to that, it also performs around the range of its competitors.

In that case, nine is an ideal score to rate the processor performance in this Lenovo 300e Chromebook review.

Lenovo 300e Chromebook Memory (RAM) Performance Review

The Lenovo 300e Chromebook comes with 4 GB LPDDR3 1866Mhz RAM. This is also a single slot memory that is soldered to the Chromebook’s motherboard.

As for upgradability, you cannot upgrade the memory of this Chromebook because it’s soldered to the motherboard. Nevertheless, you won’t be needing more than 4 GB of memory for a student-friendly Chromebook.

Having said that, it would be good if we establish just how much performance this Chromebook can handle. To do that, I did a multitasking test on the Lenovo 300e Chromebook 2nd Gen.

For this test, I opened 14 web tabs simultaneously. These tabs responded at a good pace and moving between tabs wasn’t sluggish.

However, when I increased the web tabs to 21, this Chromebook began to slow down.

Multitasking or running programs is not a problem for this device. Although, if you push it, you won’t get the best out of this Chromebook.

In fairness, the Lenovo 300e performs as expected – not so fast and not overly slow either. With that in mind, I will rate this memory section an eight in this Lenovo 300e Chromebook review.

Lenovo 300e Chromebook Storage Options Performance Review

The storage capacity of the Lenovo 300e Chromebook is slightly more than what we see on typical Chromebooks. This device comes with 32 GB eMMC storage.

A Chromebook with 32 GB is more than one with 16 GB. Nonetheless, a Chromebook having 256 SSD storage is very unnecessary and that’s because Chromebooks were not designed for storing files locally.

With that said, you’re probably wondering what happens when the storage gets filled up (which is unlikely). Well, this Chromebook has more storage options.

To be precise, Lenovo made provision for you to enhance the storage with the SD card reader feature. This means you can slot a full SD card into this device for more storage.

Asides from that, you also get 100 GB of Google Cloud storage when you activate Google One on your Chromebook. To learn how to activate the 100 GB Google Drive storage, visit this link – How to Get 100GB of Google Drive Space on a Chromebook.

In summary, Lenovo 300e Chromebook has a storage size that is above average. In addition to that, the full SD card reader feature is also a plus especially when most recent devices come with the limiting microSD card reader instead.

Hence, this storage section of the Lenovo 300e Chromebook review deserves a rating of nine.

Lenovo 300e Chromebook Graphic Card Performance Review

The graphic card featured in the Lenovo 300e is the Integrated Intel UHD Graphics card. As an integrated graphics card, you should expect it to depend on the CPU for any graphics task.

When it comes to speed, this graphics card has a 200 MHz base frequency and 650 MHz boost frequency. Since I just mentioned its speed, you’re probably wondering what these figures mean in performance.

To provide clarity, I conducted a 3D Mark benchmark test. This benchmark test tool is works by rendering 2D and 3D graphics so users can have an idea of how this device handles overall graphics performance.

After making use of the 3D Mark test, Lenovo 300e arrived at 415 points. A more impressive score is the Dell Latitude 11 with 501 points in the same test.

Apparently, the Dell Latitude 11 which is the main competitor of the Lenovo 300e performs better when it comes to graphics. Hence, a rating of eight is a reasonable score for this storage review section of the Lenovo 300e Chromebook.

Lenovo 300e Chromebook Battery Life Performance Review

When it comes to battery, the Lenovo 300e is powered by a 42Wh Li-Polymer battery. As for battery life, Lenovo claims that this Chromebook lasts up to 10 hours on a single charge.

While it’s normal to see Chromebooks with such battery life, it’s important to be sure. And to be certain, I did a battery test to verify Lenovo’s claim.

To be precise, I carried out a video playback test which involves playing a video repeatedly till the battery dies. Before starting this test, the Chromebook was fully charged and brightness was set at 70%

I also turned off the Wi-Fi connection and played a locally saved 15-minute video documentary repeatedly. At the end of this video playback test, the Lenovo 300e 2nd gen Chromebook gave up at an impressive 16 hours 18 minutes.

Looks like Lenovo underestimated the battery life of their product! For a Chromebook to last 16 hours on video playback, you can expect two hours more than that solely on web browsing.

When compared with the previous model, the 1st gen model lasted only 10 hours 47 minutes on the same test. Also, Dell Latitude 11 didn’t meet up with Lenovo’s new product with its runtime of 12 hours 42 minutes on the same test.

Even though it is common to see Chromebooks with impressive battery life, 16 hours is super impressive for a device at its price. With that said, a score of nine is definitely befitting for this battery performance section of the Lenovo 300e Chromebook review.

Frequently Asked Questions

This Chromebook comes with 4 GB of RAM.

Lenovo released the 300e 2nd Gen in 2019.

Lenovo offers two processors on different models: the Intel Celeron and MediaTek processor options

This is an 11-inch Chromebook that weighs 1320g.

This Chromebook has a spill-resistant keyboard that can handle some spills on it.

My Final Thoughts

The Lenovo 300e is definitely one Chromebook that hits the mark of education-focused devices out there. Whether a teacher or a student, this Chromebook is a great blend of portability, durability, and performance.

Above that, this device is also suitable for frequent travelers who need an affordable laptop. In addition to its affordability, this Chromebook has a rugged build that will survive road trips and still has average performance for basic tasks.

It’s tempting to say that this Chromebook can do no wrong. However, if you find the charge-only USB Type-C port limiting, you’ll find that as a flaw.

Regardless, if you can live with that single limitation and you need a reliable Chromebook for school, the Lenovo 300e should check all the boxes.

I hope you found this Lenovo 300e Chromebook review helpful. If you found the review helpful, share your thoughts with our community platform at Itechguides Community.

You may also ask questions or make Комментарии и мнения владельцев regarding this review at Itechguides Community. Our team and other community members will respond to your questions or Комментарии и мнения владельцев as soon as possible.

Finally, for more Chromebook reviews, visit our Chromebook Reviews page. You may also find our Laptop Specs page very helpful.

Lenovo 300e: Full Review with Specs, Features, and Pricing

The Lenovo 300e is one of the latest slim and light laptops. As online schooling and college education continue to grow in popularity, more buyers are searching for the lightest laptop for the job. While there are plenty of portable options on the market, the Lenovo 300e brings a solid combination of performance, hardware, and features.

But is the 300e worth the hype? And can this little Lenovo laptop compete with the Dell Latitude series and the rest of Lenovo’s slim and light laptops, like the ThinkPad X1 Carbon? Let’s find out!

Lenovo 300e: Best Deal Today

Lenovo offers the 300e in a few different configurations, depending on your use case and budget. The ChromeOS version will work best if you want a lightweight, fast, and secure web browsing system. Conversely, the Windows model is best if you need to run OS-specific applications or if you prefer the familiar Windows 10 interface.

Lenovo 300e: Overview

With Lenovo’s long history of producing quality laptops, like the famed ThinkPad series, the bar has been set very high for the 300e. The company’s laptop legacy dates back over two decades, with Lenovo producing some of the most pivotal laptops of the 1990s and early 2000s.

As the company’s success grew, more and more Lenovo laptops appeared in schools, colleges, and corporate offices. As a result, Lenovo is currently one of the best-selling laptop brands in the world.

While many of Lenovo’s previous models FOCUS on durability and performance, the 300e takes a different approach. Like the IdeaPad series, the 300e offers entry-level performance for web browsing, office work, or cyber schooling. Unlike the IdeaPad, the 300e sacrifices some of the bells, whistles, and performance benefits to save on costs.

As a result, the 300e is one of Lenovo’s smallest laptops and the most budget-friendly. While you won’t get to play the latest games on this laptop, you’ll have no problem browsing the internet, working on small files, or typing up documents on the go. This laptop is aimed squarely at students, and it’s no wonder why: with such a small form factor, it is perfect for carrying around between classes and taking notes.

Release date and price

Lenovo launched the first generation of the 300e on March 1, 2018. Despite its original retail price of 329, you can now easily find this laptop for a more reasonable price thanks to recent price decreases. However, you should be careful to opt for the 2nd generation, which offers a more powerful Intel CPU, better battery life, and improved display quality.

Different Models

Lenovo offers the 300e in three configurations. Two of the most popular configurations are Chromebooks, with the third option being a full-fledged Windows computer. There are a handful of reasons you might want to go with a Chromebook. But there are even more reasons you should lean towards the Windows model.

While ChromeOS offers all of the capabilities you need for a lightweight browsing laptop, you might run into some limitations. If you use your laptop for work, your company may require you to use Windows. This is especially true in financial, medical, and research fields, which often require Windows-specific applications.

On the other hand, the Chromebook is a good choice if you want the most inexpensive option. Using ChromeOS is similar to Windows in many ways. However, you’ll need to be connected to the Internet to use your system, and you’ll need to ensure you have a Google account to use your device.

While this isn’t a severe limitation for many buyers, others will undoubtedly find more freedom with the Windows version of this laptop. The 300e offers full support for Windows 10. And, thanks to Lenovo’s business-grade reputation, you even get to enjoy all the benefits of the professional version of Windows.

You can install Linux on the 300e, which makes it even more appealing to tech-savvy individuals. If you want to enjoy the true freedom Linux offers, this system will give you an excellent base to start with.

Features

The Lenovo 300e is designed for versatility. As such, it is as full-featured as you could expect a laptop of this size to be. The 300e looks like a regular laptop from a distance, but pick it up and fold the display over, and you have an 11-inch tablet. Also referred to as a 2-in-1 laptop, this design allows you to enjoy the best of both the tablet and laptop form factors.

While not the best quality, the touchscreen display offers a range of inputs from multitouch, pen, or stylus control. The color accuracy is an unimpressive 57% sRGB, but the screen itself is bright enough to view under harsh lighting conditions. Additionally, viewing angles are reasonable, especially for an 11-inch screen.

You also get an HD webcam above your display, perfect for conferencing with Zoom or Skype. Turn it around, and you’ll find a rear-facing camera for snapping those candid photos. Thanks to rubber bumpers surrounding the display bezels, you can pick this laptop up and handle it without worrying about dents or dings from use.

As for ports and connectivity, this laptop keeps you connected just as well as a full-size laptop. Along the righthand side of the laptop, you’ll find a Micro SD card slot, Kensington lock, and a USB 3.2 port.

The touch stylus is also integrated into the casing on this side. The left side houses a USB Type-C port and another USB 3.2 port. You also get an HDMI port for connecting an additional monitor.

Specifications

Display 11.6” IPS 1366 by 768
Processor Intel Celeron, Pentium, or AMD A4
Connectivity Wi-Fi AC BlueTooth 5.0
RAM Type Soldered
RAM Capacity 4GB or 8GB
Storage Type eMMC or M.2 SSD
Storage Capacity 64GB, 128GB, or 256GB

Lenovo 300e: Review

With an 11-inch touchscreen display, the 300e is designed for portability. While you might be disappointed with the screen’s low resolution, the 300e has a trick up its sleeve: the contrast ratio and viewing angles are significantly enhanced due to the IPS display. The result is a laptop with a small but highly usable screen.

Lenovo 300e’s weak point is its specs. With a meager Celeron or Pentium processor, you’re extremely limited in performance capabilities. The story isn’t much better when discussing the RAM and storage. While the choice of 4GB or 8GB of RAM is not much freedom to begin with, the 300e is further limited by the fact that the RAM is soldered to the motherboard and not expandable after purchase.

You can order the Lenovo 300e with either an eMMC drive or an M.2 drive. While both formats are solid-state drives in nature, the M.2 choice offers better performance. Selecting the eMMC version means you won’t be able to upgrade your storage at a later date. Since the 300e only comes in 64GB or 128GB capacities, this can be pretty limiting.

The battery is more than sufficient to power this little laptop. With a 42wHr 3-cell lithium-ion battery, you can expect between 12 and 16 hours of runtime. Of course, this depends on your usage, as heavier tasks will wear down the battery faster. For web browsing, checking emails, and browsing your socials, achieving over 10 hours is no problem for this laptop.

What’s more, one of the strengths of the 300e is its small size. In addition to being highly slender, this laptop is also very lightweight. specifically, it is as light as a feather at an insubstantial 2.9 pounds or 1.31kg.

Lenovo 300e: Is It a Buy?

The Lenovo 300e is not for everyone. With so many limitations surrounding the specs, this is not the laptop to get if you need to do any intensive computation. But with such an attractive price, it can be tempting to pick it up. So how can you tell if the 300e is a good move or if you should pick something else?

Buy it if…

You want a basic laptop for college or school

This laptop is also ideal for kids to use thanks to its durable design, rubber bumpers around the screen, and touchscreen display. Your kiddos can hop on the internet, play simple games, watch YouTube videos, or do homework. Also, carrying the 300e around in your backpack all day is no issue, making it the perfect system for a student.

You need a cheap laptop to get the job done

The 300e won’t stress your budget, either. While you don’t get the high performance of pricier laptops, the 300e includes all the basics to accomplish simple tasks.

Don’t buy it if…

You want a fast, high-performance laptop

The 300e is not it. In fact, this laptop’s performance is dismal compared to slightly better laptops. However, if your needs are simple, you’ll hardly notice. The limitations become more apparent if you want to use your laptop for anything more than web browsing.

Since the 300e struggles with advanced and resource-intensive tasks, you will be better served by looking for a more powerful Windows 11 laptop. You can certainly find a cheap gaming laptop without breaking the bank if you want to use your laptop for gaming and more demanding apps.

Lenovo 300e: Full Review with Specs, Features, and Pricing FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

Does Lenovo 300e have good battery life?

The 42wHr 3-cell lithium-ion battery offers roughly 12 to 16 hours of runtime, depending on usage.

How old is the Lenovo 300e?

The Lenovo 300e was initially released in 2018.

Does the Lenovo 300e have a touch screen?

Yes, the Lenovo 300e offers a touchscreen display. It also includes a touch stylus for more precise input.

How much does the Lenovo 300e weigh?

The Lenovo 300e weighs 2.9 pounds or 1.31kg.

Does Lenovo 300e work with Linux?

Yes. One significant benefit of the 300e is that you can install your choice of Linux distro if you prefer not to use Windows or ChromeOS.

About the Author

Tyler Von Harz

Tyler Von Harz is a writer with a passion for computers and technology. When he isn’t writing about graphics cards, processors, and computers, he is working in his computer store, where he builds and repairs PCs. Outside of working on computers, Tyler also enjoys creating coding tutorials and sharing stories about what it is like to run a computer store on his blog: tylerthetech.com

The Best Chromebook

After a new round of testing, we’ll be adding the following picks to this guide: the Acer Chromebook Spin 513 will be our top pick, the Lenovo Flex 5i Chromebook (13″) will be our budget pick, and the Acer Chromebook Spin 714 will be our upgrade pick. If you want a big screen, we recommend the Lenovo IdeaPad Gaming Chromebook 16″ with an i3 or i5 processor.

A good Chromebook can do almost anything a regular laptop can do, and the best ones feel better to use than their similarly priced Windows counterparts. After testing most of the Chromebooks released over the past eight years and testing 16 models so far in 2022, we recommend the Lenovo Flex 5i Chromebook (13″). It’s comparatively inexpensive, and it offers fast performance plus an excellent keyboard and trackpad. The Flex 5i is also compact and light, and its 1080p touchscreen is vivid and bright. Though our other picks last a couple of hours longer, the battery in the Flex 5i should still survive a full day of work or classes.

Why a Chromebook?

Many kids already use Chromebooks at school, and these inexpensive, secure, and accessible laptops are great for pulling out of a bag and getting right to work.

Chromebooks can do almost anything that regular laptops can do, using browser-based software and services instead of Windows or macOS apps.

lenovo, 300e, chromebook, review, school, bring

A great 400 Chromebook can feel faster to use—and be lighter and more compact—than a similarly priced Windows laptop.

If you already have a desktop or laptop, a Chromebook makes an excellent and affordable secondary device.

The best Chromebook

With excellent performance for its low price, a great keyboard and trackpad, and a compact, light body, the Lenovo Flex 5i is the Chromebook to buy.

Buying Options

At the time of publishing, the price was 450.

Recommended configuration

Processor: Intel Core i3-1115G4 Screen: 13.3-inch 1920×1080 touch
Memory: 8 GB Weight: 2.97 pounds
Storage: 64 GB or 128 GB SSD Tested battery life: 8 hours

The Lenovo Flex 5i Chromebook (13″) is an exceptional Chromebook. In addition to being an all-around great laptop, our recommended model offers faster performance than most Chromebooks under 500. Many cheap Chromebooks can’t handle a video call and an open document at the same time, or they feel slow with just a handful of tabs open. But thanks to its Core i3 processor and 8 GB of memory, our pick can handle everyday workloads with aplomb. The Flex 5i’s predecessor, the Lenovo Chromebook Flex 5 (13″), is a decent option if you find it in stock and on sale with a Core i3 processor, but it has only 4 GB of memory, and its guaranteed update support runs out a year sooner.

Faster, smaller, and lighter

The Galaxy Chromebook 2 is smaller, lighter, and speedier than the Flex 5 and lasts longer on a charge, but it’s quite a bit more expensive.

Buying Options

Recommended configuration

Processor: Intel Core i3-10110U Screen: 13.3-inch 1920×1080 touch
Memory: 8 GB Weight: 2.71 pounds
Storage: 128 GB eMMC Tested battery life: 11 hours

If you’re willing to pay more for a smaller and lighter Chromebook with longer battery life, get the Samsung Galaxy Chromebook 2. The Flex 5i is more than good enough for most people, but if you want a sleeker, more portable Chromebook, the Galaxy Chromebook 2 is the best option—if I had to carry a laptop around all day, this is the one I’d buy. Unlike our other picks, this model has only USB-C ports; if you own older peripherals that use USB-A, you’ll need a dongle or dock to accommodate them. (Note that we don’t recommend the Galaxy Chromebook 2 with a Celeron processor, as it’s too slow for its price.)

A 15-inch option

The Flip C536 has a large, 15.6-inch screen and a built-in number pad, but it’s too big and heavy to travel with frequently.

Buying Options

At the time of publishing, the price was 370.

Recommended configuration

Processor: Intel Core i3-1115G4 Screen: 15.6-inch 1920×1080 touch
Memory: 8 GB Weight: 4.3 pounds
Storage: 128 GB SSD Tested battery life: 11.5 hours

If you need a bigger screen and a number pad, the Asus Chromebook Flip C536 (C536EA-BI3T3) is the best option. Its 15.6-inch touchscreen provides more room to do work or enjoy media, but it also makes the laptop bulkier. We don’t recommend this 4.3-pound laptop if you need to take yours to work, class, or even a coffee shop—it’s best used around the house. If the C536 is unavailable, the virtually identical Asus Chromebook Flip CM5 (CM5500FDA-DN344T) is another great option.

It can be difficult to find a decent Chromebook in stock during the back-to-school shopping season. If none of our picks are available, we recommend setting up stock alerts through NowInStock.net or browser extensions like Keepa. If you can’t find a new Chromebook anywhere, consider a used Chromebook—but double-check the official end-of-support date before you buy. You can also turn an old Windows or Mac computer into a Chromebook, if you have an aging system lying around.

The best Chromebook

With excellent performance for its low price, a great keyboard and trackpad, and a compact, light body, the Lenovo Flex 5i is the Chromebook to buy.

Buying Options

At the time of publishing, the price was 450.

Faster, smaller, and lighter

A 15-inch option

The Flip C536 has a large, 15.6-inch screen and a built-in number pad, but it’s too big and heavy to travel with frequently.

Buying Options

At the time of publishing, the price was 370.

What is a Chromebook?

A Chromebook is a laptop that runs ChromeOS, an operating system that uses the Chrome web browser as its primary interface. Chromebooks are ideal for students and kids, but you should also consider one if you spend most of your computer time in a web browser, if you’re on a tight budget, or if you already have a decent desktop PC. A good Chromebook can do almost anything a regular laptop can do—as long as that task is possible in a web browser or in Android apps. And Chromebooks are cheap: A 400 Chromebook is faster, lighter, and sleeker, and blessed with better battery life, than a 500 Windows laptop. Chromebooks are also secure and easy to maintain.

But Chromebooks can’t run Photoshop, Windows-specific games, or many of the programs you might be used to having on your Mac or Windows computer. They don’t have much local storage, and they work best with a full-time internet connection—though there are offline options for Gmail, Google Drive, and other apps. If you use web-based email, if you can get by with Microsoft’s Office 365, Google’s office web apps, and Android app alternatives, and if you stream your music and movies over the internet as well, a Chromebook should do just about everything you need it to.

In 2022, most Chromebooks have 64 GB or 128 GB of onboard storage; Google also provides 100 GB of free online Google One storage for one year. (Once your year is up, you need to pay to keep that Cloud storage. Right now, 100 GB of storage costs 2 per month or 20 per year.) Most Chromebooks also include USB ports and a microSD card slot that you can use to expand the storage.

The Best Laptop Under 500

If you’re on a budget, these are the best cheap Windows laptops and Chromebooks we recommend after extensive research and hands-on testing.

Why you should trust us

Senior staff writer Kimber Streams has tested most of the Chromebooks released since 2014, when they began researching and testing Chromebooks for Wirecutter. They’ve tested and reviewed hundreds of laptops, including Chromebooks, cheap Windows laptops, gaming laptops, and fancy ultrabooks.

How we picked

A Chromebook doesn’t need to be exceptionally powerful or look fancy. But if slow performance, poor battery life, a horrendous screen, or a bad keyboard or trackpad gets in the way of your using the internet, the Chromebook has failed at its only job. Here’s what we look for:

Performance: A decent processor and enough memory (RAM) together make the difference between a Chromebook that feels quick and responsive and one that suffers from slow load times and frustratingly laggy inputs.

In our mid-2022 round of testing, we found that reliable performance for a Chromebook requires 8 GB of RAM and at least a 10th- or 11th-generation Intel processor or 5000-series AMD Ryzen processor. When we used Chromebooks with lower-end processors or less memory for everyday tasks, we encountered longer and more frequent delays loading tabs, typing in documents and spreadsheets, and speaking on Zoom calls. People who work with lots of tabs, frequently work in large documents while on video calls, or use Linux apps on their Chromebooks should get a model with at least an Intel Core i3 processor and 8 GB of RAM.

Some low-end processors paired with 4 GB of RAM are fast enough to get by on a budget Chromebook. We’ve found in our testing that processors with at least four threads—an important spec that influences how fast your computer feels and is often listed alongside the number of cores a processor has—can handle running a Zoom video call and taking notes in a document simultaneously. But we have encountered occasional freezes and delays on these models, and we’re concerned about how well they’ll perform over the long term.

Avoid most Chromebooks that run on Intel’s N-series Celeron or Pentium processors, on ARM-based processors from companies like MediaTek or Qualcomm, or on AMD’s Athlon A4 and A6 processors; in our testing over the years, we’ve come away frustrated by their laggy, inconsistent performance. Also avoid any Chromebooks with less than 4 GB of memory, regardless of their processor.

Price: As of mid-2022, Chromebooks that meet our performance requirements typically cost at least 400, and you can get a great one for less than 500. Options with better performance tend to cost at least 600.

Keyboard and trackpad: A keyboard and trackpad should be good enough not to get in the way of your work. A backlit keyboard is a nice luxury, and most Chromebooks priced over 400 have one.

Battery life: A Chromebook should last for a full eight-hour day of classes or work so you don’t have to hunt for an outlet or be stuck with a dead laptop.

Size and weight: The lighter and more compact a laptop is, the easier it is to lug on a plane, to a coffee shop, or to class. And for Chromebooks with 360-degree convertible hinges, being lighter makes them easier to hold in tablet mode—less than 3 pounds is ideal.

Screen: We recommend a 1920×1080 resolution for a 13- to 15-inch screen—any higher isn’t worth the trade-off in battery life, and any lower looks noticeably worse. A 1366×768 resolution is acceptable on a smaller screen in a cheaper Chromebook.

Ports: We appreciate when a Chromebook includes both USB-C ports and traditional USB-A ports to connect older peripherals.

Touchscreen and 360-degree hinge: A touchscreen and a 360-degree hinge are nice perks since Chromebooks also run Android apps, and an included stylus is a bonus. Since those features add cost, we don’t require them for all of our picks.

Support: Google guarantees eight years of software updates—including new features and security fixes—for every new Chromebook released after 2020. 1 We don’t recommend any Chromebooks with a support date that expires before 2026. You can check how long a model has guaranteed support on Google’s support site or check on your Chromebook itself by following these steps. (This support is separate from a hardware warranty provided by the laptop’s manufacturer.)

The Best Laptops

From budget-friendly options to thin-and-light ultrabooks to powerful gaming laptops, we’ve spent hundreds of hours finding the best laptops for most people.

How we tested

We lived with each Chromebook for at least a full day of work to get a feel for the keyboard, trackpad, screen, and speakers, as well as for each laptop’s real-world performance. We checked Gmail and Google Calendar, ran Slack, streamed music, worked in large Google Drive spreadsheets and text documents, chatted on Zoom, and paid attention to input lag while typing in Google Docs. We also watched streaming video on Netflix, Hulu, and YouTube.

lenovo, 300e, chromebook, review, school, bring

To quantify how fast a Chromebook felt to use, we gathered results from the Speedometer 2.0 and JetStream 2 benchmarking tools to measure performance, combining those results with what we saw in our real-world testing. This step also highlighted the performance gap separating models with Intel’s and AMD’s typical laptop processors from those with low-budget Intel or AMD chips, as well as ARM-powered Chromebooks.

To test the battery life of each Chromebook, we used a customized version of the Chromium battery test designed to emulate normal browsing behavior. The first 60% of the test involves loading a new website every minute, scrolling down and back up the page. The next 20% of the test loads a Gmail tab with audio streaming in a background tab. For the next 10%, the Chromium test loads various Google Docs items; the final 10% of the test plays a full-screen YouTube video. We ran the test until each Chromebook died.

Our pick: Lenovo Flex 5i Chromebook (13″)

The best Chromebook

With excellent performance for its low price, a great keyboard and trackpad, and a compact, light body, the Lenovo Flex 5i is the Chromebook to buy.

Buying Options

At the time of publishing, the price was 450.

Recommended configuration

Processor: Intel Core i3-1115G4 Screen: 13.3-inch 1920×1080 touch
Memory: 8 GB Weight: 2.97 pounds
Storage: 64 GB or 128 GB SSD Tested battery life: 8 hours

The Lenovo Flex 5i Chromebook (13″) is an exceptional Chromebook—it’s fast, it has an excellent keyboard and trackpad, it’s compact and light, and it has a bright 1080p touchscreen with rich colors. And somehow, it’s still comparatively inexpensive. The Flex 5i’s battery life is just long enough to last through a day of work or classes, but that’s cutting it close to the battery’s 8-hour average in our tests, and it’s the one area where our other picks do better. (The Flex 5i’s predecessor, the Lenovo Chromebook Flex 5 (13″), is a decent option if you find it in stock and on sale with a Core i3 processor, but it has only 4 GB of memory, and its guaranteed update support runs out a year sooner.)

Many Chromebook keyboards are merely serviceable, and others feel stubborn, mushy, and unpleasant to type on. But the backlit keys on the Flex 5i offer deeper travel than those of many laptops and are comfortable to use. The trackpad, like most Chromebook trackpads nowadays, is accurate and reliable.

The Flex 5i is much lighter and more compact than most Chromebooks in this price range. In fact, at around 3 pounds and 12.2 by 8.4 by 0.7 inches, it’s closer in weight and size to our upgrade pick, though the Flex 5i is a bit thicker.

In our productivity and media testing, the Flex 5i’s 13.3-inch, 1920×1080 touchscreen display looked good. Light colors in spreadsheets appeared distinct and weren’t washed out, and shadows and deep blacks looked appropriately dark in movies and TV shows. The Flex 5i has a 360-degree hinge, but it’s too bulky to hold comfortably in tablet mode, despite being smaller and lighter than most Chromebooks. If you want a Chromebook you can use comfortably in tablet mode, consider our upgrade pick instead.

On the right side, the Flex 5i has a power button, a volume rocker, and a USB-C port, plus a lock slot. Photo: Michael Murtaugh

On the left, you’ll find another USB-C port, a USB-A port, a headphone jack, and a microSD slot. Photo: Michael Murtaugh

On the right side, the Flex 5i has a power button, a volume rocker, and a USB-C port, plus a lock slot. Photo: Michael Murtaugh

The Flex 5i has a mix of new and old USB ports, so it should accommodate most of the accessories and cables you already have. That mix includes two USB-C 3.1 Gen 1 ports, one USB-A 3.1 Gen 1 port, an audio jack, and a microSD slot for additional storage. The webcam is about as good as that of most laptops—it’s sufficient for work or school calls—and our pick has a handy, physical privacy shutter that you can slide across the lens when you’re not using it to ensure that no one can see you. The Flex 5i also supports the latest Wi-Fi standard, Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax). It comes with a one-year manufacturer’s warranty and 100 GB of Google One storage for one year (which normally starts at 20 per year), and it has update support through June 2029.

Flaws but not dealbreakers

Chromebook model Tested battery life (hours:minutes)
Lenovo Flex 5i Chromebook (13″), 8 GB RAM 8:05
Lenovo Chromebook Flex 5 (13″), 4 GB RAM 8:23
Lenovo 5i Chromebook (14″) 8:34
Samsung Galaxy Chromebook 2 (i3 model) 10:01
Asus Chromebook Flip CX3 (CX3400FMA-DH388T-S) 10:14
Lenovo IdeaPad Flex 3i Chromebook (15″) 10:16
Asus Chromebook Flip C536 (C536EA-BI3T3) 10:41
Acer Chromebook Spin 713 (CP713-3W-5102) 11:44

Our battery-life test mimics ordinary browsing behavior by scrolling through websites, Gmail, audio streaming, Google Docs, and YouTube videos. We run the test until each Chromebook dies.

In our mid-2022 web-browsing battery test, the Flex 5i lasted 8 hours 5 minutes, about two hours short of many other Chromebooks we tested. It still has enough battery to get through a full day of work or classes, but that’s pushing it, especially if you crank up the screen brightness. We’d prefer a couple more hours of battery life, but our pick excels in so many other ways that we think it’s worth this small trade-off.

The lid can be a little tricky; I frequently found myself needing two hands to open the Flex 5i. If that’s a dealbreaker for you, consider the Samsung Galaxy Chromebook 2 or the Asus Chromebook Flip CX3 instead—we were able to open both of those laptops with one hand in our tests. We wish the Flex 5i had a lip, as some of Lenovo’s Yoga models do, to make the laptop easier to open. Otherwise, our pick offers excellent build quality.

Upgrade pick: Samsung Galaxy Chromebook 2

Faster, smaller, and lighter

The Galaxy Chromebook 2 is smaller, lighter, and speedier than the Flex 5 and lasts longer on a charge, but it’s quite a bit more expensive.

Buying Options

Recommended configuration

Processor: Intel Core i3-10110U Screen: 13.3-inch 1920×1080 touch
Memory: 8 GB Weight: 2.71 pounds
Storage: 128 GB eMMC Tested battery life: 10 hours

As someone who tests laptops for a living, if I were shopping for a Chromebook, I’d get the Samsung Galaxy Chromebook 2 with the Core i3 processor, and if you’re willing to pay more for a smaller and lighter Chromebook with longer battery life, you should, too. Unlike our other picks, the Galaxy Chromebook 2 lacks USB-A ports for connecting older peripherals; you need a dongle or dock to attach those. (Note, too, that we don’t recommend the Celeron version of the Galaxy Chromebook 2, as it’s too slow for its price.)

While the backlit keyboard is shallow, it’s still satisfying to use. And whereas some laptop keyboards emit a clacking noise as you type, the Galaxy Chromebook 2’s keyboard is quiet, which makes it ideal for a shared workspace. The trackpad is smooth and accurate, and though it’s a bit smaller than the Flex 5i’s trackpad, we didn’t run into any issues with its size.

In our mid-2022 battery-life tests, the Galaxy Chromebook 2 had solid battery life in line with many of the models we tested—the Core i3 model we recommend lasted 10 hours 1 minute in our tests. We expect it to last through a full day of work or school without needing to be plugged in. The Galaxy Chromebook 2 is just a bit smaller all around than the Flex 5i, and it weighs just 2.71 pounds. It’s not quite the lightest and most compact Chromebook we’ve tested—that honor goes to our previous upgrade pick, the Google Pixelbook Go. (We still think the Pixelbook Go is a great Chromebook, but it’s no longer our upgrade pick because support for the Pixelbook Go runs out in June 2026, and five years is the minimum we expect for a laptop.) But the Galaxy Chromebook 2 is light enough to use comfortably in tablet mode, unlike any of our other picks.

The 13.3-inch display looks crisp and vibrant, and because it gets a bit brighter than the Flex 5i’s screen on the highest settings, it’s better suited for working outdoors in sunlight. The touchscreen on this Samsung model offers the same 1920×1080 resolution as on most of our picks, plus it has a 360-degree hinge for tent and tablet modes, unlike the Pixelbook Go, which works only as a regular ol’ clamshell laptop.

The Galaxy Chromebook 2 doesn’t have any USB-A ports. The right side has one USB-C port. Photo: Michael Murtaugh

The Galaxy Chromebook 2 doesn’t have any USB-A ports. The right side has one USB-C port. Photo: Michael Murtaugh

This Chromebook has two USB-C ports that carry data at 5 Gbps, power, and display, as well as one 3.5 mm audio jack and a microSD slot. It doesn’t have any USB-A ports for connecting older peripherals; if you want to do that, you need to attach a dongle or dock. The Galaxy Chromebook 2’s webcam looks a bit better than the Flex 5i’s, but it’s still not as sharp as the Pixelbook Go’s excellent 1080p webcam. Like our top picks, this laptop supports Wi-Fi 6. The Galaxy Chromebook 2 has guaranteed update support through June 2028, a one-year warranty, and 100 GB of Google One storage for one year.

The best 15-inch Chromebook: Asus Chromebook Flip C536 (C536EA-BI3T3)

A 15-inch option

The Flip C536 has a large, 15.6-inch screen and a built-in number pad, but it’s too big and heavy to travel with frequently.

Buying Options

At the time of publishing, the price was 370.

Recommended configuration

Processor: Intel Core i3-1115G4 Screen: 15.6-inch 1920×1080 touch
Memory: 8 GB Weight: 4.3 pounds
Storage: 128 GB SSD Tested battery life: 10.5 hours

If you want a larger screen and a number pad, we recommend the Asus Chromebook Flip C536 (C536EA-BI3T3). Its 15.6-inch touchscreen provides more room to get work done or to enjoy media, and the number pad is useful if you perform a lot of data entry. That big screen makes the whole laptop heavier and bulkier, so the C536 is much less portable than our other picks—we don’t recommend it if you need a laptop to take to work, class, or even a coffee shop. If the C536 is unavailable, the virtually identical Asus Chromebook Flip CM5 (CM5500FDA-DN344T) is also a great option.

The Flip C536’s biggest appeal lies in its spacious 15.6-inch, 1920×1080 touchscreen, which is ideal if you want more room to work on documents and spreadsheets, or if you simply prefer a larger screen for watching shows and movies. Its colors are vibrant, and we didn’t see any noticeable color tints during our tests. For some reason the C536 also has a 360-degree hinge, but it’s way too heavy and bulky to flip around and use comfortably in other modes.

On the right side, the C536 has a USB-C port, an HDMI port, and a microSD slot. Photo: Michael Murtaugh

And on the left, it has another USB-C port, a USB-A port, and an audio jack alongside the volume rocker and power button. Photo: Michael Murtaugh

The Flip C536’s backlit keys are enjoyable to type on, with deep travel and springy feedback. It’s also the only one of our picks with a number pad, so if that feature is a must-have for you, this is the Chromebook to get. The extra-wide trackpad is responsive and accurate, too.

Even though the Flip C536 will last a long time away from an outlet—we recorded 10 hours 41 minutes in our battery test—it’s too large and heavy to carry around on a regular basis. At 4.3 pounds, it’s by far the heaviest of our picks, and compared with the Flex 5i, it’s about 2 inches wider, an inch deeper, and a bit thicker. If you need a portable Chromebook to take to classes, to commute or travel with, or to occasionally cart to a café, consider our other picks instead.

Like our top picks, the Flip C536 has two USB-C ports that carry data at 5 Gbps, power, and display. It also has a USB-A port (3.2 Gen 2), a microSD slot, and an audio jack. The HDMI port supports the 2.0a specification. (The Flip CM5 model has HDMI 1.4.) The webcam is about as good as that of our other picks, and the Flip C536 supports Wi-Fi 6 and has guaranteed update support through June 2029. It comes with a one-year warranty and 100 GB of Google One storage for one year.

Other good Chromebooks

If our top pick is out of stock: Get the Acer Chromebook Vero 514 (CBV514-1H-38VS), the next best option. Compared to the Lenovo Flex 5i the Vero 514 is more expensive, it’s bulkier and a bit heavier, and it lacks a touchscreen. But the Vero has solid performance, long battery life of around 12.5 hours in our tests, a decent 14-inch 1080p display, and a higher-quality 1080p webcam.

If you can’t find our other picks: The Asus Chromebook Flip CX3 is another good option, but at 3.64 pounds it’s much heavier and more expensive than the Flex 5i and the Chromebook Vero 514. The Flip CX3 offers great performance, a 14-inch 1080p touchscreen, a comfortable keyboard and trackpad, and two more hours of battery life than the Flex 5i. It also comes with a stylus.

If you’re looking for a cheaper 15-inch Chromebook: The Lenovo IdeaPad Flex 3i Chromebook (15″) is a decent choice, especially if you can find it on sale for less than 400. But this model’s performance is borderline due to its N6000 processor—in our testing, conducting a Zoom video call while working on a spreadsheet maxed out the processor, which resulted in video and audio delays on Zoom and delays when we navigated and typed in the spreadsheet.

If you want longer battery life and a taller screen: The Acer Chromebook Spin 714 (CP714-1WN-53M9) is an excellent Chromebook, with 13 hours of battery life, a reliable keyboard and trackpad, and a vivid 14-inch display. Compared with the Samsung Galaxy Chromebook 2, the Spin 714 has a taller display and more ports, but it’s noticeably heavier and bulkier. If you find the Spin 714 on sale—or if you don’t mind the extra weight—it’s worth buying.

If you want a repairable Chromebook: The Framework Laptop Chromebook Edition is what you’ve been waiting for. Just like its Windows counterpart—which received a 10 out of 10 repairability score from iFixit and which we recommend in our Windows ultrabook guide—you can easily replace and upgrade the Framework Chromebook’s individual parts. Framework includes a screwdriver and handy QR codes by each internal part that direct you to step-by-step replacement guides with links to the exact parts you’ll need. You’ll be able to add more storage and memory, replace your battery, extend your ChromeOS support date by upgrading your mainboard with a new processor, or repair anything else if it breaks. But this promise depends on Framework continuing to exist and supply parts for this Chromebook. If the company goes under or stops supporting this model, then it’s just like any other Chromebook—when it breaks or its support runs out in June 2030, you’ll have to replace the whole thing. It’s also very pricey for a Chromebook at 1,000, and its battery life is decent, but not superb at 10 hours and 18 minutes.

If you need a durable Chromebook for young kids: The Acer Chromebook 712 (C871-C85K) could be a good option, thanks to its durable body and spill-resistant keyboard. But it’s slower than our top pick—it can handle remote schoolwork or a video chat, but it can’t do both at the same time gracefully. It also suffers from a terrible, low-resolution, non-touch screen, and its keyboard is mediocre.

| Denial of responsibility | Contacts |RSS